pandora bracelets sale mbt uk ugg short cheap moncler jacket uk runescape gold vivienne westwood online balenciaga handbags bikini halter bride gowns chanel bags moncler sale moncler outlet wow gold buy rift plat moncler coats

Bulletin Board / Babillard



Distinguished Vision Scientist Appointed Director of the School of Optometry at the University of Waterloo.

Dr. Thomas F. Freddo, formerly of the Department of Ophthalmology at Boston University School of Medicine will take up the reins at Waterloo in September. For more information about Dr. Freddo, click here to read his Biosketch.


University of Montreal Vision Scientist Mauric Ptito Awarded Prestigious Hensen Prize in Denmark

Click here for details



Queen's Vision Scientist Nikolaus Troje Awarded Prestigious Steacie Fellowship:

Click here for details



Dr. Keith Gordon Named Head of Research for the CNIB.

Click here for details



Two Honours for Faculty at the University of Ottawa Eye Institute/The Ottawa Hospital:

1. Seymour Brownstein, MD FRCSC was awarded the J. David Grimes Research Career Achievement Award of The Ottawa Health Research Institute. The Award honoured his lifetime research achievements in ophthalmic pathology, and was presented at a reception which raised $125,000 for research.

2. Bruce Jackson, MD FRCSC received the Ottawa Life Science Council Award for his leadership and vision as Director of the University of Ottawa Eye Institute.



Prof. Allison B. Sekuler (McMaster) was named one of Canada's Leaders of Tomorrow by the Partnership Group for Science and Engineering ( in November 2004.


Dr. John Flanagan, Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology & Vision Sciences at the University of Toronto, Senior Scientist in the VisionScience Research Program at the Toronto Western Research Institute, and Professor of Optometry at the University of Waterloo, delivered the Glenn Fry Award Lecture at the December 2004 meeting of the American Academy of Optometry in Tampa, FL. The Award is offered for significant research contributions to the understanding of causes of vision loss. His Award Lecture was titled: My Life Under Pressure and Other Facets of Glaucoma.




The CIHR Institute of Neuroscience, Mental Health and Addictions (INMHA) offers a $1,000 award, every two weeks, to trainees who publish a senior-authored paper in a leading journal in any area related to the mandate of INMHA. There have been several awardees in the area of vision research but there could be more. Please go to the INMHA link below to get more information

Walter Wittich - July 15, 2006
Yunwei Feng - April 15, 2005
Robert Chow - January 1, 2005
Cary Kogan - November 15, 2004
Richard Le Grand - June 1, 2004
Armando Bertone – November 2003
Eliana Klier (her second!) - December 1, 2002
Kai Schreiber - January 1, 2002
Eliana Klier - November 15, 2001
Dave Ellemberg - October 15, 2001



The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO)’s Proctor Medalist for 2003 was Professor Jacob G. Sivak of the University of Waterloo School of Optometry.

In 2001, Professor David Martin Regan of York University’s Centre for Vision Research was the Proctor Medalist.

In 1998, the Friedenwald Award was given to Professor Robert S. Molday of the University of British Columbia.

The Proctor and Friedenwald awards are for senior investigators and represent ARVO’s recognition of outstanding and sustained scientific contributions. The ARVO Award recognizing the achievements and promise of scientists under the age of 40 is the Cogan Award. In 2002, Professor Michael A. Walter of the University of Alberta was the winner.



McGill University: Erik Cook
McMaster University: Patrick Bennett, Digby Elliott, Allison Sekuler
Queen’s University: Craig W. Hawryshyn, Douglas Munoz, Nikolas Troje
University of Alberta: Ordan J. Lehmann, Douglas Wong-Wylie
University of British Columbia: Jason Barton, Max S. Cynader, Robert S. Molday
University of Calgary: Sheelagh Carpendale, Sarah McFarlane
Universite de Montreal: Sylvain Chemtob, Pierre Jolicoeur, Franco Lepore, Len Levin
Universite Laval: Lucie Germain
University of Ottawa: Alan Mears
University of Toronto: Belinda Chang, C. Ross Ethier, Geoffrey Hinton
University of Victoria: Robert L. Chow
University of Waterloo: James A. Danckert, Elizabeth Irving,
University of Western Ontario: Mel Goodale, Ravi S. Menon
York University: J. Douglas Crawford, John Tsotsos



  • Bal Chauhan: Dalhousie University
  • Jocelyn Faubert: Essilor Chair Universite de Montreal
  • Elise Heon: Hospital for Sick Children, Mira Goddard Chair in Vision Research
  • Rejean Munger: U of Ottawa Eye Institute, Clifford, Gladys and Lorna J. Wood Chair for Vision Research
  • Maurice Ptito: University of Montreal, Hartland Sanders Research Chair
  • Cathy Tsilfidis: U of Ottawa Eye Institute, Don and Joy Maclaren Chair for Vision Research


Please click here for the list

May Griffith, University of Ottawa



CIHR Strategic Initiatives are Funding Vision Researchers and Trainees:

1. York University’s Centre for Vision Research (CVR) is now able to see its way clearly to training the next generation of researchers in the interdisciplinary study of human vision health, thanks to new funding from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR).
The CIHR has awarded $1.4 million over six years to a group of scholars at the CVR for this purpose. The scholars are the largest interdisciplinary vision research group in North America.

Led by York Professor Hugh Wilson, professor of spatial and computational vision, the group represents a core of Canadian leaders in the study of vision internationally, and includes researchers at Toronto Western Hospital, Sunnybrook and Women’s College Health Sciences Centre, the University of Waterloo and the University of Western Ontario.

2. Regenerative Medicine Grant of $1.5M:

Dr. Isabelle Brunette (Université de Montréal, Hôpital Maisonneuve-Rosemont, Montréal) and team will conduct research to improve the outcome of corneal transplantation.The aim of the research is to ultimately decrease the waiting lists for this kind of surgery.


Are you interested in posting a message on the VHRC Bulletin Board?
Send your request to

Top of page / Haut de la page